Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar
TNHS Graduation
Npossible logo
NCHS Gradution
TNHS Graduation 2
NCHS Cardinal Tribute

Students named Jeff Green Scholars

By Tim Ballard, KHEAA

FRANKFORT, Ky. — Twenty-six area students have been named Senator Jeff Green Scholars by the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority (KHEAA). To earn this honor, a student must have a 4.0 grade point average each year of high school and at least a 28 composite on the ACT.

These students have also earned $2,500 a year in Kentucky Educational Excellence Scholarship (KEES) awards. If they keep their grades up in college, they will have $10,000 to use toward a four-year degree.

The designation honors the late state Sen. Jeff Green of Mayfield, who served in the Kentucky General Assembly from 1992 to 1997.

Area scholars are the following:

  • Bardstown High School: Isaac Crume, Lucas Downs, Haylee Marks, Coleman Newton, Mary Grace Rapier.
  • Bethlehem High School: Sara Avis, James Blanford III, Jacob Curtsinger, Davis Downs, Isaac Edelen, Brett Gordon, Daniel Manion, Robert McDonald, Eric Ulrich II.
  • Nelson County High School: Paula Gagne, Macy Hagan, Kelsie Head, Cheyenne Kessinger.
  • Thomas Nelson High School: Alexis Coulter, Laken Culver, Daniela Gamez, Jacob Hogan, Nada Kaissieh, Joanna Whitis.
  • Gatton Academy of Mathematics and Science: Caroline Boone.
  • LaRue County High School: Jacob Cecil.

KEES and other Kentucky student aid programs are administered by KHEAA. KEES awards are funded by net Kentucky lottery proceeds and may be used at most colleges and universities in Kentucky. In some cases, the award may be used at an out-of-state school if the major the student is pursuing is not available in Kentucky. No application is necessary for KEES awards.

Back to School News      Print News Article